Dr. Teitelbaum awarded Pottash Professorship

Scott Teitelbaum, MD
Scott Alan Teitelbaum, MD

Scott Alan Teitelbaum, MD has been awarded the Pottash Professorship in the Department of Psychiatry. Established in 1991 by Carter A. Pottash, MD, a distinguished psychiatrist and addiction expert, the Pottash award supports a professor in the Department of Psychiatry who is a nationally recognized leader in addiction medicine with a strong clinical focus who shares and pursues research related to addiction treatment and intervention.

Dr. Teitelbaum currently serves as the director of the UF Health Florida Recovery Center and the training director for the UF Addiction Medicine Fellowship. Dr. Teitelbaum’s success with the use of evidence-based addiction treatment has set a standard of quality care at the UF Health Florida Recovery Center and the Addiction Medicine Fellowship Program that has been recognized by the American Board of Addiction Medicine (ABAM). His commitment to the education of future addiction medicine professionals is evident in his numerous teaching awards and national lectures on these topics. He has treated patients from over 40 states and is a highly sought after expert in the field of addictions.

Additionally, he actively participates as a member for the Annenberg Foundation Committee, is instrumental in the education of medical students rotating in addiction medicine, and serves as a member of the ABAM Foundation, Addiction Medicine Fellowship Development Committee working towards the development of a national training curriculum and criteria to establish and accredit residency training programs in Addiction Medicine.

Drs. Pottash and Teitelbaum will be formally acknowledged at the UF Health Celebrating Distinction event in the fall.