Posted in


Dr. Cheong receives Roberts Award for Mentorship in Academic Psychiatry

Josepha Cheong, MD Josepha Cheong, MD is the recipient of the 2021 Roberts Award for Inspirational Mentorship in Academic Psychiatry by the Association of Academic Psychiatry. The Roberts Award honors psychiatric educators who have supported medical students, residents and early career psychiatry faculty in their…

Dr. Mihalik-Wenger receives ACLP William Webb Fellowship

The Webb Fellowship Program is designed to support a select number of outstanding advanced residents and fellows in C-L psychiatry at an early stage in their career. The program is named for William Logan Webb, Jr., MD, FACLP, president of the Academy 1986-87. Dr. Webb had an impressive career…

Housestaff Council Executive Committee

Three of our trainees have been appointed to the Housestaff Council. PGY-4 Meena Nuthi, MD as Co-Chair, PGY-2 Lymaries Velez, MD as Diversity Chair, and Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellow George Teaford, MD, Member at Large. The Housestaff Council was founded in July 2019 to represent Housestaff…

Transition in leadership: UF Department of Psychiatry

Carol Mathews, M.D., begins her new role as interim chair of University of Florida’s department of psychiatry today, succeeding Regina Bussing, M.D., who has stepped down as chair after leading the department for more than seven years.

5 Things You Should Know About Antidepressants and College

Antidepressant use among college students has doubled in the last decade. Parents who have concerns about their child’s response to an antidepressant should encourage their child to notify their psychiatric provider. Here are five things to keep in mind.