Dr. Creelman Receives APA Award for Contributions to Psychiatry, Will Deliver Lecture at 2024 APA Annual Meeting

Wayne Creelman, MD, has been honored with the American Psychiatric Association’s (APA) Administrative Award, recognizing his impactful contributions to the field of psychiatry, specifically in managing mental health services delivery systems.

Wayne Creelman, MD Professor
Wayne Creelman, MD Professor

A magna cum laude graduate from Boston College with triple majors in biology, philosophy, and theology, Dr. Creelman continued his academic journey at Georgetown University School of Medicine. During his psychiatric residency at the Institute of Living, he founded the Psychopharmacology Consultation Service.

His diverse career includes various academic positions at institutions such as the University of Connecticut School of Medicine and the University of Vermont College of Medicine. Notably, he directed psychopharmacology at the Maine Medical Center, conducting successful phase three drug trials. His leadership extended to Buffalo, New York, where he oversaw BryLin Hospitals and the Western New York Behavioral Medicine and Psychotherapies.

Joining the University of Florida faculty in 2006, Dr. Creelman served as the medical executive director at the Northeast Florida State Hospital. Beyond clinical duties, he played a pivotal role in enhancing the training of medical students, psychiatry residents, and fellows. While serving as a professor and chief of the UF Division of Community Psychiatry, he also co-authored the book “Don’t Take Away My Adderall.” Dr. Creelman currently holds the position of McCabe Professor and serves as an Ambassador to the Vero Beach community in Florida. In this role, he actively contributes to enhancing accessibility to mental health services within the community.

Dr. Creelman is set to deliver the APA Administrative Psychiatry Award lecture, titled “Administrative Challenges in the Lifespan of a Psychiatrist,” on May 4th at the 2024 APA Annual Meeting in New York City, hosted at the Jacob Javits Convention Center. The award presentation will take place immediately following his lecture.