2023 Chief Appreciation and Residency Award Ceremony

On June 16th Residency Education held their Annual Resident Awards and Recognition Luncheon following the PGY-4 Grand Rounds. Several of the residents and faculty were recognized for their hard work and contributions to the program during the 2022-23 academic year.

Chief Residents 2023

Administrative Chief Residents

Kent Mathias, MD & Brendan Butler, MD 

The Chief Resident Award is a prestigious recognition given to our Administrative Chief Residents who have demonstrated exceptional leadership skills, clinical competence, and a commitment to the overall well-being of their fellow residents and the medical community.

Outpatient Chief Residents

Chloe Schneider, DO & Gabe Jerkins, MD      

The Outpatient Chief Resident Award is a prestigious recognition given to an exceptional individual who has demonstrated exemplary leadership, clinical skills, and dedication in the field of outpatient medicine during their residency program. This award highlights the outstanding contributions made by the recipient in the outpatient setting, where they have displayed a commitment to providing high-quality patient care, promoting efficient and effective healthcare delivery, and exhibiting strong leadership qualities.

John E. Adams Memorial Academic Achievement Award

The John E. Adams Memorial Academic Achievement award is a recognition bestowed upon residents who have demonstrated exceptional academic performance and excellence in their educational endeavors. This prestigious award is presented to the residents who scored the highest in their class on the 2022 PRITE exam.

Drs. DeFaria and Jerkins

Josepha A. Cheong, MD Medical Student Clinical Teacher Award

Gabe Jerkins, MD
This award recognizes and honors exceptional clinical teachers who have made significant contributions to the education and training of medical students. These individuals serve as role models and mentors, demonstrating outstanding dedication, knowledge, and skill in their interactions with students.

Richard Christensen, MD Community Service Award

Nadia Cacodcar, MD
This award is a prestigious recognition given to individuals that have made outstanding contributions and demonstrated a strong commitment to serving their community. This award aims to acknowledge those who have selflessly dedicated their time, skills, and resources to making a positive and lasting impact on the lives of others.

Isabella Caldwell, MD

John M. Kuldau, MD Research Award

Isabella Caldwell, MD
This award recognizes outstanding achievements in the field of research and honors individuals who have made significant contributions to the advancement of knowledge in psychiatry. This prestigious award acknowledges the dedication, innovation, and impact of researchers who have demonstrated excellence in their work.

Ross McElroy, MD Psychotherapy Award

Lymaries Velez, MD
The recipient of this award is someone who has demonstrated outstanding expertise, innovation, and effectiveness in their therapeutic approach. They have made notable contributions to the development and application of psychotherapeutic techniques, theories, or interventions, resulting in improved patient outcomes and enhanced mental health care.

Patient Care Award

Megan Single, MD
The recipient of this award consistently goes above and beyond their professional responsibilities, demonstrating a deep understanding of the physical, emotional, and psychological needs of those under their care. They establish meaningful connections with patients, treating each individual with respect, empathy, and kindness.

Equity and Inclusivity Hero (Resident)

Nadia Cacodcar, MD
The recipient of this award is recognized for their outstanding efforts in advancing social justice, challenging systemic biases, and championing the rights of marginalized or underrepresented groups. They have shown exemplary leadership, dedication, and innovation in their work to create a more inclusive and equitable environment.